VEGAN CREAMY MUSHROOM PASTA

After Monday’s serious article I am here today to share something much lighter, a delicious and creamy pasta sauce that I tried yesterday and fell in love with!

My cooking has been very boring this past month. I was so busy with writing essays and our annual dance show that cooking food had become more of a chore than something I enjoyed. Even after my essays and the show was done I still found myself eating junk because I couldn’t be bothered putting much effort into cooking. However, food is fuel and I could feel that I wasn’t fuelling my body properly; I felt tired, unmotivated, and just unhealthy in general. So this week I have decided to fix this and retrieve my love for cooking and eating well. I looked up recipes, did a proper food shopping, and got to work.

For some reason I found myself craving a creamy pasta sauce yesterday and as I realised that since becoming vegan I had only once made a béchamel, I thought that it was time to make one again. So here is a recipe of a pasta sauce that is quick and easy, and most importantly very tasty!

fullsizeoutput_6d34

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 8 to 12 oz. sliced mushrooms (I used closed cup white mushrooms)
  • 1 minced garlic clove
  • 1 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • chopped fresh parley
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pasta of choice (I used spaghetti)

Method:

  • Bring a pot of salted water to a boil and cook your pasta (check packaging for time instructions).
  • Meanwhile, sauté the mushrooms and minced garlic in a pan with olive oil until soft (4 to 5 minutes). Remove from pan and set aside.
  • In the same pan, add a splash of olive oil and cook the flour for about one minute. Gradually add the milk and stir until smooth.
  • When you reach the desired consistency of your béchamel, add the mushroom and garlic mixture, salt and pepper, chopped parley, and lemon juice.
  • Drain the pasta and mix it with the sauce.

Voila! Easy, isn’t it? This is such a delicious and quick little recipe that I will definitely make and remake. Hope you like it!

fullsizeoutput_6d36

Marion ★

One thought on “VEGAN CREAMY MUSHROOM PASTA

Leave a Reply

