GREEN BREAKFAST SMOOTHIE

Do you ever wake up craving a healthy smoothie? Because I certainly do!

After a week of surviving off pasta, courgettes, tomatoes, aubergines, and a ton of olive oil, I was happy to come home and be able to eat a more varied diet. I spent the week in a resort in Sardinia where the meals were presented in a buffet style and although delicious, without much vegan variety. Breakfast was the most complicated meal as the options consisted of: eggs, bacon, sausage, cake, bread, and corn flakes. So of course, I was glad to come home and finally enjoy the most important meal of the day again. I loved my week in Sardinia but I had missed drinking a delicious and nutritious smoothie in the morning!

What’s important to know about green smoothies is that you cannot just throw a bunch of greens in a blender and hope for the best (been there, done that). A good green smoothie consists of 60% fruits and 40% leafy greens, all mixed with either water or apple juice. Before I was aware of this fruit to leafy greens ratio, my green smoothies were never very tasteful. So I decided to do some research and try to create a healthy green smoothie that I actually enjoyed, and I am very proud of the result. It has been tested and approved by my mother who usually does not enjoy smoothies, so it must be good!

Ingredients:

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 mango
  • 1 banana
  • 1 kiwi
  • half a teaspoon of fresh grated ginger

method:

  • put the spinach and water in the blender, blend until liquid.
  • add the mango, banana, kiwi, and ginger. Blend until smooth.

That’s it! If you prefer the smoothie to be cooler, you can freeze the banana and/or mango the night before. This smoothie is perfect in the morning as it has all the nutrients that you need to successfully start your day, and it’s delicious! No need to chug it as you whisper to yourself “this is healthy, this is good” (something that I used to do when my green smoothies did not turn out too well).

enjoy!

Marion ★

fullsizeoutput_73e3

Leave a Reply

